South Carolina Alcoholics Anonymous

Districts and Groups

Area 62 Map

Click on a map section to view district information.

area 62 district map district 11 district 7 district 20 district 10 district 12 district 21 district 22 district 30 district 31 district 43 district 40 district 51 district 42 district 50 district 60 district 80 district 81 district 82 district 71 district 72 district 70 district 73 district 61

Geographic Descriptions

District #
Geographic Location
Greenville County north of I-85, and the Pelham Road Group Serves Duncan, Greenville, Greer, Taylors, Travelers Rest & Northern Greenville County.
Greenville County south of I-85 Serves Dunklin Township, Fountain Inn, Greenville, Mauldin, Pelzer, Piedmont, Simpsonville & Southern Greenville County.
Oconee and Pickens Counties; Anderson County west of I-85 Serves Clemson, Easley, Liberty, Pendleton, Pickens, Powdersville, Richland, Seneca, Walhalla, Westminster, Anderson County (West), Oconee County, Pickens County.
Greenwood, McCormick and Abbeville Counties; Anderson County east of I-85 Serves Abbeville, Anderson, Greenwood, Hodges, Honea Path, McCormick, Ninety Six, Ware Shoals, and Williamston.
Union, Laurens, Cherokee and Spartanburg Counties and Columbus Group in Polk County, NC Serves Clinton, Gaffney, Inman, Landrum, Laurens, Lyman, Spartanburg & Union , Columbus, NC.
York County, parts of Chester County, and parts of Mecklenburg County, NC Serves Clover, Fort Mill, Hickory Grove, Lake Wylie, Rock Hill, Tega Cay & York.
Chester, Fairfield, Kershaw, Newberry and Saluda Counties Serves Camden, Chester, Lugoff, Newberry, Ridgeway & Winnsboro.
Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell and Edgefield Counties Serves Aiken, Allendale, Barnwell, Denmark, Edgefield, Gloverville, New Ellenton, North Augusta, Norway & Wagener.
Lexington County Serves Batesburg, Cayce, Gilbert, Lexington, Swansea & West Columbia.
Orangeburg and Calhoun Counties Serves Elloree, Holly Hill, North, Orangeburg, Santee & Vance.
Eastern Richland County Serves Asbury, Columbia & Pontiac.
Western Richland County Serves Ballentine, Columbia, Chapin, Irmo & Prosperity.
Clarendon, Darlington, Lee, Marlboro and Sumter Counties; Southern Williamsburg Counties Serves Bennettsville, Bishopville, Darlington, Hartsville, Manning, Summerton & Sumter.
Chesterfield and Lancaster Counties Serves Chesterfield, Cheraw, Great Falls, Kershaw, Lancaster & Pageland.
Colleton, Hampton and Jasper Counties; eastern Dorchester and northern Beaufort Counties Serves Beaufort, Fripp Island, Hardeeville, Port Royal, Ridgeland, St. George, St. Helena & Walterboro.
Southern Beaufort County Serves Bluffton, Hilton Head and Okatie.
Charleston County including cities of Charleston and North Charleston Serves Charleston, Hanahan & North Charleston.
Berkeley County and eastern Dorchester County Serves Goose Creek, Harleyville, Ladson, Moncks Corner & Summerville.
Northern Charleston County Serves Daniel Island, Isle of Palms, McClellanville, Mt. Pleasant & Sullivan's Island.
Southern Charleston County Serves Charleston, Edisto Island, Folly Beach, James Island, John's Island, Wadmalaw Island & West Ashley.
Dillon, Florence and Marion Counties; northern Williamsburg County Serves Dillon, Florence, Hemingway, Johnsonville, Marion, Quinby & Williamsburg.
Northern Horry County Serves Conway, Little River, Loris, Myrtle Beach & North Myrtle Beach.
Georgetown County and southern Horry County Serves Garden City, Georgetown, Litchfield, Murrells Inlet, Pawleys Island, Socastee, South Conway, Surfside Beach & West Myrtle Beach. A


South Carolina Area 62 is currently composed of 23 districts, organized by geographic region and AA population.

The District serves to maintain two-way communication between the local AA groups and the A.A. service structure at the Area and National levels. The DCM (District Committee Member) presides over District meetings of GSRs (General Service Representatives) for each group and coordinates the local 12th step activities of the various district committees. The DCM also:

  • Keeps GSRs informed about district, area, regional, and Conference activities.
  • Helps the groups' needs and ideas reach the district, area, and the Conference.
  • Attends Area 62 Committee Meetings as scheduled to share problems and solutions, discuss budget plans, and define agendas for Area 62.
  • Attends three South Carolina Area Assemblies a year to report district activities, to vote on issues, and to support the district's GSRs.


South Carolina Area 62 currently has 379 registered AA groups meeting in our 23 districts.

Are 62 would like to welcome its newest groups:

What is an A.A. Group?

As the long form of Tradition Three clearly states, "Our membership ought to include all who suffer from alcoholism. Hence we may refuse none who wish to recover. Nor ought A.A. membership ever depend upon money or conformity. Any two or three alcoholics gathered together for sobriety may call themselves an A.A. group, provided that, as a group, they have no other affiliation." *

Is There a Difference Between a Meeting and a Group?

Most A.A. members meet in A.A. groups as defined by the long form of our Third Tradition. However, some A.A. members hold A.A. meetings that differ from the common understanding of a group. These members simply gather at a set time and place for a meeting, perhaps for convenience or other special situations. The main difference between meetings and groups is that A.A. groups generally continue to exist outside the prescribed meeting hours, ready to provide Twelfth Step help when needed.*

How Do You Become an A.A. Group Member?

"The only requirement for A.A. membership is a desire to stop drinking." (Tradition Three) Thus, group membership requires no formal application. Just as we are members of A.A. if we say we are, so are we members of a group if we say we are. *

* from "The A.A. Group...Where it all begins"